Who We Are

Corporate Structure

Research Park Corporation (RPC) is a 501(c)(3) formed in the early 1990’s by the Louisiana legislature to help grow and diversify the innovation economy in Baton Rouge and Louisiana. RPC’s first major project was to revitalize an abandoned mall in an underserved section of Baton Rouge. 
Today, the Bon Carrè Technology Center provides an 850,000 square foot home for more than 3,500 technology, research and business professionals. As for RPC, it has emerged as an economic development conglomerate of four organizations, each taking a different but aligned approach toward helping Louisiana companies create the jobs of the future.

In addition to managing corporate functions for the family of organizations, RPC also pursues national sources of funding to fuel economic development initiatives in Louisiana.


NexusLA is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Research Park Corporation launched in 2016. RPC formed NexusLA to leverage regional collaboration to connect growth-focused companies to capital, resources and diverse talent.


RPC officially launched Innovation Catalyst in 2014 as a separate 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that provides seed capital to early stage companies located in Louisiana.


The Louisiana Technology Park was formed in 2001 as a wholly owned subsidiary of Research Park Corporation. Its formation was a result of Governor Mike Foster’s Vision 2020 plan.







Ms. Silverman was chosen to lead NexusLA after serving as the Director of Finance for the Research Park Corporation (RPC) since 2008. She played a major role in forming NexusLA and launching its first initiatives which included spearheading our first statewide initiative, the Bayou Classic BizTech Challenge. In addition to managing the finances of RPC, her work over the past several years has focused on preparing high-growth tech entrepreneurs for growth and investment as well as connecting them to start-up and expansion capital.

Board of Directors

Mr. Edmund Giering, IV (Chair)

General Counsel,
Baton Rouge Area Foundation

Mr. Calvin Mills, Jr. (Vice Chair)

CMC Technology Consulting
Designee of Mayor-President
Sharon Weston Broome

Mr. Mike Moles (Immediate Past Chair)

Vice President, Managed Services

Dr. James Chappell

Director, Economic Competitiveness
Louisiana Economic Development (LED)
Designee of Don Pierson, LED Secretary

Mr. Quentin Messer

President & CEO
New Orleans Business Alliance

Dr. Michael Stubblefield

Vice Chancellor,
Research & Strategic Initiatives
Southern University
Designee of Dr. Ray Belton, President

Ms. Anita M. Tillman

AMcorp International, LLC

Mr. Issac Thomas

Designee of the Economic Freedom Association

Dr. Kalliat (K.T.) Valsaraj

Vice President
Office of Research & Economic Development
Louisiana State University
Designee of Dr. F. King Alexander, President